top of page

One Shirt? No Problem!

Hey Everyone!

So this is my first official post, seeing as last week was the mandatory "hello, hi" kinda post so I hope you enjoy it.

So one, we all have those mornings where we have no idea what to wear. Where we stand infront of our cupboards completely blank for about 10 minutes.

Two, we always wear an item a particular style and then get stuck in that one style every time we grab the item out the cupboard.

Three, who thinks of wearing a button-down collared shirt, other than at the office?

So today is all about my BLACK BUTTON-DOWN COLLARED SHIRT / THE BOYFRIEND SHIRT.

Hopefully my next few tips on how to style a button-down collared shirt will help you save time getting ready in the morning and perhaps make you step out of your comfort zone.

(FYI: I bought my black shirt from Mr Price in the mens section on sale about 3 years ago for R59.00, so totally affordable and still going strong years later!)

Here we go...

Look 1:

With this look I unbuttoned quite a few buttons, about 3 from the top and 5 at the bottom.

This is more of the raunchy look, if you're comfortable enough to show some skin then do it! It's a crop top with a twist.

Be sure to pair it with a pair of high-waisted skinnys, this helps tuck in the excess material from the shirt and the skinnys cover up your belly area, else you'll definitely be showing way too much skin!

I decided to pair this outfit with black boots with a heel, making it a smart casual vibe.

Look 2:

I feel like every girl has to own at least one dungaree in their cupboard!

It's such an easy item to style around in both summer and winter.

With this look I buttoned the shirt all the way to the top, threw the dungaree over it, added a black tassel belt, paired it with some white sneakers and added some fishnet socks just for an extra element to the outfit. Im not sure about you guys, but my arms are always the first thing that get sun burnt, so this is a perfect festival/concert outfit for me, if you're going to be in the sun for hours, covering the arms up but looking fashionable at the same time.

Look 3:

The good-ol' tucking in of the shirt - but with a twist!

Button-ups can feel overwhelming on smaller frames (like me). So I like to tuck just the front, where you tuck in one front panel of the shirt while letting the other side hang out. I've buttoned the shirt all the way to the collar, ruffled the sleeves up, added a belt to help shape the sillohoute and frame and put on a pair of plain black sneakers.

Look 4:

This look is very similar to look 1, however, instead of completely having your shoulders bare and tummy sneaking out I've tied one or two of the buttons from both the bottom and top of the shirt to make the shirt only bare one shoulder this time around. I also then tucked the shirt into the jeans completely, showing no tummy. This look is a lot more covered compared to look one, if that's your preference.

Once again, this look is smart casual wear.

Look 5:

This my every day kinda look. I paired up a t-shirt I've had for yeaaaaaars with some old jean I've cut up, put some fishnet stocking under the jeans and took the black button-down collared shirt completely off and wrapped it around my waist. Oh, who can forget some good old black chucks to complete the look. This is a very compfortable look, nothing is tight, so you can go about your day with ease!

Look 6a:

b)

The leather jacket... IT IS A STAPLE. A NEED. A MUST HAVE.

A leather jacket is perfect for layering, looking chic and wearing all year round.

Here I'm showing you how to switch up an existing button-down shirt look by adding the jacket as an extra element. a) First doing the layering trick with the jacket on top of the shirt, which is great for the colder days and then b) putting the jacket on with the shirt around the waist outfit, there's no need to ever get cold whilst looking cool in a button-down ;)

Look 7:

And we whip the leather jacket off, throw it over the shoulder, unbutton the shirt completely and slay the day away!

This is the perfect outfit to run errands in, I often find myself doing this look and even changing the shirt (I have so many in different colours and patterns) but still keeping the jeans and a white t-shirt underneath.

And that's how you do it - 7 ways, one shirt!

So if anything, go out there and get yourself a loose fitted button-down shirt. You'll pretty much be sorted with a different outfit, everyday for an entire week thanks to this little clever piece of clothing.

Hope you enjoyed my first "official' post, I'm having so much fun coming up with ideas for the blog!

Please keep popping by, reading the posts, showing love and letting me know what you think...

Comment, subscribe or like down below.

Thank you for reading, once again!

Xoxo

Chan

-------------------------------------------------

Outfit Details:

Highwaisted jeans - River Island

Black boots - River Island London

Gold hooped earrings - Claire's

Black choker - Aara Jewelry

Dungaree - Cotton On

Fishnet socks - Voguebella Accessories

Sneakers - Adidas

Black ripped jeans - Mr Price

Black, silver buckled belt - Cotton On

Sneakers - Nike

"Wild and Free" shirt - Jay Jays

Ripped blue jeans - Mr Price

Fishnet stocking - Random Chinese store

Sneakers - Converse

Leather Jacket - H&M

STAY UPDATED
FOLLOW ME
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page